The Long Run Problem

Oh Long Run. My problem isn’t the long run itself. How could it be with the distances I run? The long run is, and always has been my favourite run. I doubt I’d still be running without it. Early on I quickly switched from my 5k at a time to a long-run style plan. Granted at the time my long run wasn’t even at 10k as I built up my base. There was still something very peaceful about the mindset of a long run. You’re just out there, enjoying running, and there’s something so relaxing about exhausting yourself. When you’re done you feel like you’ve really accomplished something. 

My problem with the long run is getting myself out the door. Despite how much I love being out there for hours. There’s that little lazy side of me that wants to put it off 5 more minutes. This happened last weekend. I had the opportunity to run with some friends, and don’t get me wrong I love long runs with friends, some of my favourite moments from the past year were during some crazy long run with a couple friends, you can have a ton of fun out there. But last weekend I just wanted to run alone, I wanted to be out by myself for a couple of hours in the trails. 

I was in the last km of a 34km run, still happy as a clam

So Sunday morning, I set an alarm because I know how I am. This is how I am, the alarm goes off and morning self thinks, nah, I can sleep more. So I sleep in. And I’m not at all a productive person when I sleep in. It puts me in a very lazy mood and I just want to continue laying around all day. So this is how my morning goes, eventually I do get myself out of bed, but I start thinking, I don’t need to get going immediately, I can take my time, eat some breakfast, hey I got time, I’ll watch a movie. And another, and another. Until it’s 3 o’clock in the afternoon and I’m thinking ‘shoot! I need to get going!’  Somehow I still take my time getting ready and so by this point there’s no way the long run will happen. Largely because there’s not enough daylight left and I had no interest in running in the dark that day and also because I had to be at our New Years family dinner. And so a planned 20-22k run became the 7k I could fit in before dinner/sunset. 

Enjoying my time and the waterfalls

Luckily I had the next day off and was able to do my long run Monday instead. And again we had a repeat of Sunday, but slightly more successful as I was outside at 1pm and had the time to get in my full run. About 3 hours later than I’d planned, but I had a lovely time while I was out there and it was exactly what I’d been wanting and needing. 

When I plan to run with people, none of this happens. I wake up and get myself out the door immediately and I’m usually early to show up as well. I set that alarm and get up when it goes off because I have somewhere I need to be. I wish it would work the same when I’m running alone. I even try taking the same approach, I want to be at x location by x time. But morning comes and I’m thinking, oh what for I can sleep a little longer…

Taking in awesome escarpment views

I need to figure out a way to get myself out there on days when I just want to run alone. Im thinking of some ways to use people to do this. Buddy up with someone I know doesn’t want to run as long so we meet, I run with them for their run and then continue on for the rest of mine. Or I find a friend in the same situation, who feels the same, they’re I’m need of a solo run, but they know they won’t if they don’t have that obligation. So we agree to meet at a location at a certain time. And then we go do our own runs.

2 thoughts on “The Long Run Problem

  1. Getting going is so tough in the mornings! Here the sun doesn’t even come up until 8:30-ish in the depths of winter, so this can delay me getting going for sure (I don’t run in dark). I’m not sure how I get out most days, but sometimes having tasks to do later in the day motivates me to get my run done early. Or, make a brunch date and you know you have to get your run done before then. Either way, good luck! Hopefully spring/summer comes early and that will motivate/push us more! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

