Winter Training Plans

So I signed up for an obstacle race.

Had never really considered one before, mostly because of the mud bit. I mean I’ll go play in the mud I don’t mind that. But, I don’t want any in my eyes. So therefore I don’t consider it. Also I’m going to pass on monkey bars.

So, why now?

Because it’s a winter one!! No mud all snow HOW FUN!!!

Some of the obstacles are actually just sliding down a hill on a tube/carpet. YEAH I’LL DO THAT!

I’ll just conveniently forget that I’ll likely have to do some kind of monkey bar-style obstacle.

The course:

12 obstacles over 5km should be a lot of fun! I signed up for the timed event because why not.

This all actually ties in nicely as I’ve decided to commit to rock climbing this winter. Climbing is something I’ve done sporadically over the past 5 years or so as I’m forever loosing climbing partners. But now, after once again loosing another climbing partner (they keep moving away!), I’ve decided to put on my big girl pants and just go solo. Which means a lot of bouldering in my future, something I’ve never actually done before tonight. I always stuck to top roping.

So bouldering is a lot harder than top rope. I’ve never once felt the need to use chalk while top roping. Within minutes of bouldering tonight I was thinking how helpful chalk would be, my grip was the first thing to weaken tonight, I was expecting it to be my forearms since aside from 2 weeks ago I haven’t been climbing in a year. But it was my hands this time. Doesn’t help that with so little climbing and gym time in the last couple years the calluses I’d built are all but gone. So now I have new ones being born all across my hands.

5052737-cha00
The chalk bag I just ordered (link). HE’S SO CUTE

I have a few passes left on my clip card then I think I’ll buy a 3 month membership to get me through the winter. The gym I go to also has yoga so I’ll have a studio again. I left my old studio last spring since I wasn’t going much and wasn’t a fan of the new owners. I’ve never been to the yoga at the climbing gym but I do know a couple of the instructors so that’s good.

So, that will nicely take care of my cross training for the winter and get me will prepped for my 50k I’ll be training for. Still haven’t settled on what 50k yet, I’ll get that finalized in January probably. It’s not big deal at the moment. I know I’ll do one and don’t need to hyper target my training plan for a specific date since I’m already trained for the distance. I’ve taken the past couple weeks since my 6h pretty easy but am starting to slowly ramp back up now.

Leave a Reply

